Summer Series Sprint

Post date: Feb 18, 2017 10:36:27 AM

Alex Davey won event 8 in Waggaroos Summer Series of Orienteering last Thursday evening.

Starting near the Civic Theatre, Darren Kupke set a great little course around the civic precinct and Victory Memorial Gardens. There were several spots where competitors had to choose the most efficient way to navigate around the buildings and barriers to take the next group of controls.

Most participants were able to complete the course and collect the full 200 points well within the 30 minute time limit despite the warm conditions.

Alex Davey did it the fastest finishing in a quick 16:43. He was followed closely by John Oliver (17:13) with Kade Mavroudis (19:58) and Rod Gray (20:22) not far off the pace.

Wes Campbell won the handicap honours for the event which has taken him to top spot in the club OY competition.

The penultimate event in the Summer Series of Orienteering will commence at 6pm on Thursday 23 February from the corner of Walana and Cooinbil Crescents, Kooringal.


1. Alex Davey 200 points (16:43);

2. John Oliver 200 (17:13);

3. Kade Mavroudis 200 (19:58);

4. Rod Gray 200 (20:22);

5. Wes Campbell 190;

6. Julie Gooding & Jarrah 50.