Riverina Schools Champs 2019

Post date: May 19, 2019 11:22:25 AM

Sixty eight children participated in the 2019 Riverina Schools Orienteering Day conducted on Willan's Hill last Thursday. Primary and secondary schools from Cootamundra, Ladysmith, Wagga Wagga, Yanco, Henty and Walla Walla were represented. Many were experiencing orienteering for the first time.

The day commenced with a 500 m Map Walk in which all participants were provided with some basic information about how the different features such as tracks, earth walls, watercourses, individual trees were represented by symbols on the map and about how to navigate. This was followed by the individual races and then a relay.

Cootamundra Public School dominated the 1.0 km Boys 10-11 class. Alex Brown competed very well to win by just over a minute from school mate Austin Franklin. Cootamundra also dominated the 1.3 km Boys 12-13 age-class in which Oscar Philp managed to hold off a fast finishing Riley Hartshorn for a 52 second victory.

In the 1.0km Girls 10-12 age-group Ladysmith Public School dominated. Zoe Willis absolutely blitzed the field winning by almost 11 minutes and finishing in half the time taken by runner up Indiana Cole. Charlotte Priest recorded an equally impressive time winning the 1.0 km G12-13 class. She finished 2½ minutes ahead of TRAC’s Freya Matthews with Wagga High School’s Layla Byrnes in third place.

It was much closer in the 1.3 km G14-15 age-class. Wagga High School managed a trifecta with Emily Livio just holding off school mates Sophie Ramage and Mackenzie Williams.

Logan Butler ( Wagga High School) won the 1.6 km B14-15 age-class in good style from Henry Cook (Mater Dei Catholic College) and Harry Bunt (Yanco Agricultural High School).

The 1.6 km G16+ class saw the tightest margin of the day. Jo McDougall (Wagga High School) just held off school mate Lily Stein by a narrow 20 seconds. Dekota Jones (Wagga High School) came third but was just a mere 17 seconds further back and Hayley Hutchinson was just 10 seconds in arrears in fourth place.

The B16+ class was also a tight competition. Jack Janetzki (St Pauls College, Walla Walla) eventually prevailed by just 42 seconds over Wagga High School’s Cameron McDougall . Kobe Priest (Mater Dei) finished third but was 9 minutes off the hot pace set by the leaders.

The relay proved to be a hotly contested affair although the prevalence of control flags in the area confused some and a number of teams mispunched. Wagga High School Team 1 ( Jack Hutchinson, Willis Gray, and Cameron McDougall) had a narrow 9 second victory from a composite team of (Freya Matthews, TRAC; Tom Janetzki, Lutheran Primary, Henty; and Jack Janetzki, St Pauls, Walla). The all-girl Wagga High School Team 2 ( Dekota Jones, Lily Stein, and Maycy Scott) surprised many of the boys teams with a very good third place just 3 minutes off the pace. Yanco Agricultural High School finished fourth.